Why I Write BBW Romances

The answer to that question can be summed up simply: Because we live in a society that continues to say only certain people are lovable, and that people,women in particular, of a certain size have no right to anyone or anything good.

I often see people complain that not shaming fat, thick, curvy, round, big, etc. people is inherently encouraging poor health choices, and it is the most bizarre thing. It says something about a person to hear “Everyone deserves to feel loved and valued’ and to not only turn it into something negative, but think that showing someone as loved and valued is toxic to society. Every single person with a good heart deserves to find love, compassion, and appreciation from other people.

Now, I’m not going to deny I’ve always been chubby and I always will be that’s just how I’m built. Yet my weight isn’t the only dimension to this…I’m a big black woman. I’m sorry if you think your colorblind and nothing in society has ever affected you, but you’re wrong. I have lived in this body for 20 odd years and there are stereotypes projected onto me and those who look similarly to me that are harmful, wrong, and perpetuate a belief that it is ok to treat me and others a certain way. I write black women predominantly because I reject those stereotypes, and I want to destroy them one story at a time . That isn’t the only reason I care. At the moment I am trying to lose weight so I can be more healthy. I don’t want to be skinny or thin. To be honest, I don’t find it sexually appealing. I love softness, and especially my softness. So I naturally bring that love for myself and for  pudginess to my books.

With all this in mind the question leads me to “If I don’t who will?” and to that end I also write some bigger guys too because I believe in love. I believe in the beauty of love at any and every size. Bigger people lead dynamic and interesting lives, as do skinny people, as do any people. We’re all on an exciting adventure through life and to pretend like it only happens to conventionally beautiful, young, skinny, and white people is a problem. Why? It is boring and unrealistic and after a certain point everyone I know makes fun of the prevalence of overly beautiful people described in over detail because they’re always the same details. Long flowing hair. Muscles. Blah. I describe unique details, but usually I keep them limited for that very reason. Being original with your descriptions is hard and necessary, and sometimes you just want to focus on getting across the most important details of your characters.

This is a simplification of a lot of things, but this is the bare bones. I love my pleasantly plump and Thick ladies they’re fun to right and have a range of physicality that is a delight to describe and discover new ways to describe. At the end of the day creating new and exciting characters in any genre is what brings magic to story telling. That is what makes stories feel refreshing, and we’re getting to a point where people are really realizing that. What are your thoughts?

Want a Book Featuring Some Curvelicious Ladies?
Dirty Honey is an introduction to The Black Hat Society series of steamy, occasionally romantic, and erotic BDSM centered novellas. Are you ready to play?

I am also accepting Beta-readers for my erotic-romance story White Hot Room.

4 thoughts on “Why I Write BBW Romances

  1. Thank you! As a larger woman, I relate! Almost every romantic story–be it prose, television, or silver screen–seems to feature a slender yet buxom beauty and a chiseled hunk of man flesh. Those don’t do it for me. I want realism. I want women who look like me. I want men who are imperfect and real. Everyone deserves love. EVERYONE.
    That is why I leave my physical descriptions vague in my stories. It’s challenging, but it is worth the extra work because my audience can place whatever attributes they find sexy on the characters. They can be chunky, tall, short, skinny..whatever the reader finds appealing. Because we all deserve to be loved, and we all deserve to love.

    Like

    1. And one thing a friend told me to think about is how often curvy or medium size people are supposed to be “fat”. For example having Amy Schumer as an example of body positivity or something doesn’t necessarily help the Melissa McCarthy or Rebel Wilson. But everyone deserves love and to see themselves. I hope we get better about that as people. Thank you for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

