Reblog: Should I Be Shamed For Reading Smut? | Rants & Rambles

Hey Bloggers! Welcome back to: Rants & Rambles is a weekly feature where I share my own personal thoughts and opinions about both bookish and blogging related topics. As stated, …

Source: Should I Be Shamed For Reading Smut? | Rants & Rambles

This post is wicked and I think it does a good job of defending the genre and attacking the book snobbery that often goes unaddressed. I will fully admit I have ALWAYS been fascinated by sex even as a a nine year old it intrigued me even though I didn’t understand it. Now as an adult I understand it and am still intrigued. It is human. For many it is a powerful compulsion and need in a relationship. Yet this very human experience is derided not just for bullshit “moral” reasons, but for being “low brow”. While there are plenty of problems with the genre, as this blogger points out, the main initiative to dismiss these books is there appeal to women because “female” books have always been considered frivolous because they deal with relationships and emotions. Because of how they deal with them and a tendency towards Happy Endings there is this snobbery from many people as though not reading smut makes them superior or better readers. Well being obsessed with the make out scene in Girl With the Pearl Earring didn’t stop me from loving the rest of the book in 6th Grade. Being interested in smut didn’t stop me from falling in love with Jane Eyre either. So this whole notion that this one hobby, this one interest, this one thing damns my or anyone’s entire intellect is quite frankly a pile of massive bullshit topped with flaming bullshit. At the end of the day those sexisms filtered into the general school of literature and how book genre’s are viewed. So regardless now people shun the notion of erotica and smut being enjoyable. Not for for those moral reasons or for the genre’s lack of diversity, or for its cliches…but because it isn’t *turns up nose* Literature. It isn’t proper. It isn’t well written though there are poorly written books in every genre. The bottomline is it is snobbery and elitism that affect a lot of how erotica and smut is viewed.

The great irony? In my forums, in my discussion groups, in my friend groups, and yes in my writers groups a large section of women writers are self identified nerds with incredibly intellectually demanding jobs. But I guess we’re all just…trashy people reading trashy things.

Nah.
I didn’t think so.

3 thoughts on “Reblog: Should I Be Shamed For Reading Smut? | Rants & Rambles

  1. I’m not a fan of romance, erotic or otherwise, whether it be literary, cinematic, or even real-world, but that’s me, I’m simply not a romantic person. That said, I don’t look down on people because they choose to read romance and erotica; if that is what entertains someone then fair enough, they are legitimate, if wrongly maligned, genres.
    If you like smut, then enjoy smut, and don’t let anyone make you feel bad because of it. There’s at least as much merit in smut as there is in the crappy horror movies I like to watch.

    Truth be told, I’m actually attempting to write an erotic romance; it may not be a genre I want to read, but I appreciate that it’s a popular one, and if I can do it justice, I will be more than happy to make money from it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

