Ramblings: On Erotica

Is it some cardinal sin to mix the two most often criticized aspects of erotica and roll them into one? I take one part physical smut and action, and weave it between bright emotional reaction. Associated with and disassociated with the glorious peculiarities of sex. It seems horribly authentic of me without falling into the over the top or the purple poetic. Yet both rear their heads when appropriate. To me is seems a glaring error, a human folly, to simply praise the literary sex or even to view sex as the wholly erotic. Once on a lark a man dragged is tongue up my spine. My back –rarely touched, rarely seen, but often thought of as a thing best forgotten due to marks and spots of all kinds– reacted as though he shot bolts of sensuous lightening through every inch of my body. It was more intimate, more intensely erotic, and more loving than anything I’ve ever experienced. The intention, the surprise, the feeling, and context swirled together into this marvelous embodied erotic experience. Such trivial matters are major points for those who live them and the beauty of writing is conveying that to others, to writing words so potent and powerful your reader understands how the actions transcend action and become inseparable from how they affect feeling, and are felt. Slot A into Slot B is nothing by itself. However descriptions of intimate acts. Of the fullness of intimate contact ,both mental and physical or real and imagined, provides writers and readers with a connection forged not on simple erotica or romance but on something that feels whole. I’ve read both types of erotica and loved it. However my desire it to toy with that middle ground and make you feel present.

Some would say I’ve done it all wrong. My prose is too purple, too random, too empty, too sexual, too slow, too fast. And yet…my readers, my professors, my friends find it deeply intriguing even as it defies what they expect. I’m not tooting my own horn. They find the flaws, point out my weaknesses, and eviscerate me until I think I might snap like a dragon backed into a corner. Usually those critiques are more than right. I am rough. I need work. Funnily enough that is what my sex, my writing is about, is about. We must round out the rough spots and sex is one means of doing that. Erotica must be well rounded for it to be felt in a way that satisfies me. I will not be satisfied as a writer until I believe I can give you something real to lose yourself in. That I promise you. Perhaps it is a literary sin to dare to make romance, erotica, and such defy itself. Perhaps it is a sin to make purple prose or action orientated sex a necessary part of my style.

Only you can decide. Either way I hope you enjoy what I write.

Leave a Reply

